Recent news!

4 05 2010

So, perhaps I haven’t posted all that frequently recently.  I’ve been a little busy with work, dealing with strep (again), and looking for a new apartment.  The good news is, I’m healthy (ish) and have found a new apartment that Penguin (the boyfriend), Ruby (the beagador), and I move into June 1st.  YAY!  I’ve also been doing plenty of reading, mostly in part to my sister’s very generous gift.

Introducing, my newest book!

Or more accurately, my newest potential 3,000+ books. 

 

Yes, my lovely little sister Megs bought me a Kindle.  It’s supposed to be a consolation prize to finding out that she, her husband, and my new niece (who I’ve never seen though she’s nearly 7-months-old) can’t afford to fly down from Alaska anytime soon.  I’m disappointed about not seeing them; but the Kindle has taken some of the sting out of it. 

Truthfully, I didn’t expect this.  Megs conspired with my roommate to find out which book reader I wanted.  I have looked at them all, played with them all, and obsessed over them all.  I wanted a Kindle.  So one showed up (on a particularly crappy day no less) and changed my world.  No longer do I have to lug around a giant purse with 3 novels in it.  I can simply throw my Kindle in my much  smaller purse and go with many many novels at my fingertips.

I immediately charged, registered, and loaded my Kindle with many of the free classics (that I haven’t been reading) and then downloaded the rest of the Sword of Truth series (which is really addictive… book 10 of 11 and I’m losing sleep reading “just one more chapter/30-minutes”).  Downloads are quick and easy.  I used my computer for most of them, but did make myself search and download one from the Kindle so I knew that I could if the need ever arose. 

I’m in love with this piece of technology. 

Get one! Your life will never be the same.

Actions

Information

One response

4 08 2010
The Wonderful Wizarding World of Harry Potter « The 20-Something Bibliophile

[…] read though most of the Philippa Gregory Tudor novels, and downloaded about 150 other books to the Kindle, most being part of a series.  I suppose I’m on a series […]

Leave a Reply

