Quirk Fail Plus a Giveaway

20 06 2010

I was sent an advance release copy of Android Karenina from Quirk back in late May.  I was to read it and post a blog about it June 8th and there would be links and drawings and such just like last time with PPZ:DOD.  I failed to make that deadline due to moving, however it was really Quirk’s fault on many levels.

Issue #1:  I was given around 2 weeks to read and blog.  Usually that timeframe would be sufficient for me as I read through things fast, but AK was LONG! (Also it was based on Tolstoy’s Anna Karenina— a book I have yet to make it more that 40% of the way through!)

Issue #2: I moved during the last week of May/first week of June.  Moving, reading, and blogging do not go together (especially when they shut off the internet a full week early and have yet to give a sufficient deal to reinstate service at the new address).

Issue #3:  Android Karenina is based on Anna Karenina.  That should be proof enough of the impossibility of the deadline.  Quite honestly, I made it through nearly half of Anna Karenina before putting it on indefinite hold–Android Karenina made it through chapter 3 before I gave up. 

Conclusion: I love Quirk, but this was a fail on many levels.  If anyone wants to give it a go, I’ll send them my copy as I don’t think I’ll ever get to it.  Reply/comment with a name and email address and I’ll use a random number generator to “draw a name out of a hat” on the 4th of July (low traffic on the site due to recent hiatus makes me think I should have a nice long window for entries) and email and post the winner on the 5th.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

